May’s Make and Take it

What an awesome meeting.  If a member comes on time, they get a favor.  This month they got to choose a darling hand-made penny rug.

IMG_2218

They also got a handout of helpful conversions.

IMG_2219

Always our show and tell is fantastic!!! We have such talented gals in our group.  Some of us are working on a block of the month.  They are given a prize when they come with a finished block – please note the size of Marlene’s cute little block… and I wonder what Melynda is thinking about?IMG_2223

Look, it’s prize time.

IMG_2224

Janice we love your flannel chest board.

IMG_2225

IMG_2221

We had an awesome guest speaker come with her awesome quilts.

Deonn Stott 

About Deonn.  The long version….

I love every aspect of quilting!  I love to design and make quilts, teach quilting classes, hang out in the Quiltscapes studio and do custom free-motion quilting for clients on my longarm quilting machine, Old Betsy!    I constantly think about quilting, dream about quilting, talk about quilting, and can hardly wait to get up in the mornings to get quilting!  Fabric speaks to me, and I listen… You might say I’m a little bit passionate about quilting….

Quilting is a connection to generations of women in my family.  I began sewing as a child, and have many fond memories of spending time in the sewing room with my mother and two sisters.  I pretty much grew up under a quilt frame, helping my mom tie quilts, eventually learning to hand-quilt whole-cloth tricot wedding quilts with my Grandma. I remember looking over my Great-grandma’s shoulder as she pieced countless quilts for charity and family.

My first pieced quilt was a log cabin quilt that my Mother had begun shortly before her death in 1999.  It would have been her first pieced quilt too.  I finished the quilt and gave it to my Dad the next Christmas.  It was made with love and tears, and healed my grief with every stitch.  I was hooked!  And as history has a way of repeating itself, I now enjoy spending time in the sewing room with my own daughters (my son, too!). Each of them are accomplished quilters as well and have received numerous awards and recognition for their sewing and quiltmaking.

 

I couldn’t take pictures of everything she showed us, so here are a few favs:

IMG_2228

IMG_2229

She brought each of us a cute pattern for this pin cushion.  Please note the eyes – pins!!\

IMG_2137

We have an awesome group!

IMG_2230

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

